Seidonia Suite

Album Cover

Live at Finney Chapel—Feb. 2004

  1. Waves (2:39)
  2. Beneath the Waves (4:10)
  3. Transformation (5:05)
  4. Seidonia (2:44)
  5. Lemicia & Ramirez (3:00)

Live at West Hall—May 2004

  1. Full 6 Movement Version (25:05)
All files are mp3s encoded at 196kb/s.

Seidonia Suite was the second and longer of two piano & tape pieces I wrote for my Junior recital at Oberlin Conservatory. Instead of mixing piano and electronic material similtaneously, as is common for instrument & tape works, Seidonia Suite alternates piano and tape movements.

The shorter, five movement version was written in little over three weeks during January and early February of 2004. It premiered at a contemporary music concert in Finney Chapel shortly afterwards. The next 2 months were spent writing the “elusive sixth movement”, in which the piano and tape parts finally come together. The rest of the work was reordered, and slightly modified for this new movement, Worlds Colid to fit between movements four and five.

The program for Seidonia piggybacks a fairy-tale concept that I developed the previous summer revolving around an underwater fantasy world I had dreampt up (quite litteraly). The suite doesn't so much tell a story, as it paints a picture of certain aspects and events in this underwater world. The original tale, with its mermaids and love stories, is all very silly, but it gave me an interesting scene to work off of.